The Awards for Excellence celebrate success in the
Isle of Man


Paula lunt, Paul McCann, Mark Cavendish, Roger Raatgever, TLC Business Solutions, Isle of Man Children's Centre, Swagelok, Royal Skandia Life Assurance, CVI Optics Ltd, Microgaming, Island Aircraft Registry, Primary Healthcare Services, Online Regional Travel Group, Manx Telecom, Isle of Man Creamery and Manx National Heritage.

Robin Gibb received the Lifetime Achievement Award.


Click here to see the latest awards news at iomtoday.co.im

Case Studies

Click on the link below to download PDF copies of our case study articles featured in the Examiner


Barclays Wealth

IoM Post Office


Isle of Man Bank

Britannia International

Sefton Hotel

Collins Stewart



Freedom to Flourish

Fairbairn Private bank

Celton Manx Ltd

Tynwald Mills

RBS Coutts



Conister Bank


Rachel Kay on 695605 or email rachel.kay@newsiom.co.im.

Sponsorship - Trudi Williamson 695695.

Click the link below to see the online emag version of the fantastic
64-page Awards for Excellence supplement


The Abacus Award - Innovation and Independent Thinking
Winner - Microgaming

The Barclays Wealth Award - Charity , Cultural and Social Enterprise
Winner - Age Concern

The Celton Manx Award - Corporate Social Responsibility
Winner - Britannia International

The Conister Bank Award - People Management and Development
Winner - Swagelok

The Appleby Award - Excellence in use of Technology
Winner - Celton Manx

The Isle of Man Bank Award - Company of the Year
Winner - Isle of Man Creamery

The Isle of Man Government Award - Freedom to Flourish
Winner - Children's Centre

The Isle of Man Post Office Award - Teamwork
Winner - Hospice

The Microgaming Award - Customer Service
Winner - RBS International

The RBS Coutts Award - Marketing and PR Effectiveness
Winner - Manx Telecom

The Sefton Group Award - Public Sector Achievement of the Year
Winner - Isle of Man Constabulary

The Tynwald Mills Award - Small/Medium Enterprise of the Year
Winner - Manx 2

The Britannia International Award - Young Achiever of the Year
Winner - Naomi Finch

The Collins Stewart Award - Business Person of the Year
Winner - Bill Mummery

The Domicilium (IoM) Ltd Award - Public Sector Person of the Year
Winner - Brian Johnson

The Cube Award - Volunteer of the Year
Winner - Angie Aire

Click HERE to see the whole
event as it was broadcast live
to the world on the night

"..and the winner is.."

(hover for details - click for full picture)

  • Inspector Ken Kneale (IoM Constabulary) received the Sefton Award for Public Sector Achievement of the Year presented by Mark Lewin.
  • Jane Howland (RBS International) received the Microgaming award for Customer Service presented by Roger Raatgever.
  • Bill Mummery (Celton Manx) received the Appleby award for Excellence in the Use of Technology presented by Sean Dowling.
  • Noel Hayes (Manx 2) received the Tynwald Mills Award for Small/Medium Enterprise of the year presented by Stephen Bradley.
  • Angie Aire (Breakthrough Breast Cancer) received the Cube Award for Volunteer of the Year presented by Tervis Gan.
  • Penny Creighton MBE (Age Concern) received the Barclays Wealth Award for Charity, Cultural and Social Responsibility presented by Greg Ellison.
  • Andy Bridson (Manx Telecom) received the RBS Coutts Award for Marketing and PR Effectiveness presented by Andrew Moretta.
  • Mark Beresford (Britannia International) received the Celton Manx Award for Corporate Social Responsibility presented by Bill Mummery.
  • Roger Raatgever (Microgaming) received the Abacus Award for Innovation and Independent Thinking presented by Mike Hodgson.
  • Naomi Finch (Sefton Group) received the Britannia International Award for Young Achiever of the Year presented by Mark Beresford.
  • Margaret Simpson (Hospice) received the Isle of Man Post Office Award for Teamwork presented by Geoff Corkish.
  • Kate Hansford (Swagelok) received the Conister Bank Award for People Management and Development presented by Simon Hull.
  • Brian Johnson (Aircraft Registry) received the Domicilium Award for Public Sector Person of the Year presented by Andy Swearman.
  • Findlay Macleod (Isle of Man Creamery) received the Isle of Man Bank Award for Company of the Year presented by Tony Schofield.
  • Bill Mummery (Celton Manx) received the Collins Stewart Award for Business Person of the Year presented by Dermot Hamill.
  • John Knight (Children's Centre) received the Isle of Man Government Award for Freedom to Flourish presented by Allan Bell MHK.

  • Lady Walker won the Lifetime Achievement Award for 2009. Click the picture below to see a video interview.

    Lady Walker, winner of the Lifetime Achievement award for 2009

    The WMV video file requires windows media player.

    Quotes from the Awards for Excellence

    "The pride and honour felt by the recipients of the awards, was clearly obvious and I am sure the exhilaration and pride they felt in receiving such an accolade will remain with them."

    "It is right that we should recognise local achievement and to do so in such a fabulous way was a real tribute to all those who were nominated"

    "I was in tears as the opening scenes of the Island were on screen, really pulled at the heart strings and made us both so proud to be manx"

    "I, for one, was very proud to be involved with the whole event."

    "It was another marvellous evening which did the Isle of Man proud."

    "It was particularly interesting to see so many 'achievers' that had been voted in as finalists and it brought home to me how much activity is taking place on the Island with so many worthwhile causes about which I had no previous knowledge."